

Presidents Cup: T20 Rules 2021

1 The Competition

The competition will comprise of 5 Round Robin Competition games between 6 teams. where each team plays every other, followed by a Grand Final.

On completion of the series of five rounds, all teams will be placed from first to sixth position according to the points obtained, In the event of teams finishing on equal points, the right to play in the final will be determined as follows:

- Who beat who during round robin.
- The team with the highest net run rate.

A team's net run rate is calculated by deducting from the average runs per over scored by that team through the competition the average runs per over scored against that team throughout the competition i.e., calculation of net run rate = team run rate per over less opponent run rate per over.

Grand Final

The Grand Final will be played at a venue to be determined by the Waikato Valley Cricket Association. The team which wins the Grand Final shall be the winner of the competition. In the event of a tie in the Grand Final, a super over shall be played to determine the winner. If the super over is tied, the super over process shall continue until a winner is found.

In the event of the Grand Final being rained out, a replay will be organised by Waikato Valley Cricket Association

2 Hours of play and intervals

Morning T20		Afternoon T20	
First session	10:30am – 11:50am	First session	2:30pm – 3.50pm
Interval	11:50am – 12:00pm	Interval	3:50pm – 4:00pm
Second session	12:00pm – 1:20pm	Second session	4:00pm – 5:20pm

If the innings of the team batting first is completed early, then the Interval shall be taken immediately and the second session must take place 10 minutes from the completion of the first session.

If the first session is not completed by the allocated time, then the innings will be called to a close and the team batting second will only be allocated the same number of deliveries.

3 Length of Innings

20 overs constitute an innings; however, if rain affected the innings may be reduced to 5 overs, any less constitutes a rained-out match.

4 The Ball

A new kookaburra four-piece 156g white ball (Senator, Club match or Regulation) must be used each innings, however if the opposition captain agrees a used ball may be used by either team. The ball used in the am fixture may be used in the pm fixture if in good condition (opposition captain must agree)

5 The Result

If a minimum of 5 overs per side cannot be achieved the match is abandoned. The latest possible start time for a 5 over game is 12:30pm (Morning Game) and 4:30pm (Afternoon game)



If play is reduced through rain during the second innings and the game is scored on PlayHQ, duckworth lewis should be used to determine the target. If duckworth lewis is not used the first innings score shall be calculated at runs per over x the number allocated to complete the second innings.

In the event of a tie during round robin play, including a tie when the Duckworth/Lewis method has been used, the following Super Over procedure shall apply to achieve a result:

- (a) It shall commence 10 minutes after the conclusion of the match.
- (b) In both innings of the Super Over, the fielding side shall choose from which end to bowl.
- (c) Only nominated players in the main match may participate in the Super Over. Should any player (including the batsmen and bowler) be unable to continue to

participate in the Super Over due to injury, illness or other wholly acceptable reasons, the relevant Laws and Playing Conditions as they apply in the main match shall also apply in the Super Over

- (d) Each team's over is played with the same fielding restrictions as those that are in place for the last over of a normal T20 match.
- (e) The team batting second in the match will bat first in the Super Over.
- (f) The loss of two (2) wickets in the over ends the team's one over innings.
- (g) In the event of the team's having the same score after the Super Over has been completed, the team whose batsmen HIT the greatest number of BOUNDARIES combined from its two innings in both the main match and the one over per side eliminator shall be the winner.
- (h) If the number of BOUNDARIES HIT by both teams is equal, the team that hit the greatest number of boundaries (fours and sixes) in the main match (ignoring the Super Over) shall be the winner.
- (i) If still equal, a coin toss shall be conducted

6 Restriction on Placement of Fielding

There shall be no more than 5 fieldsmen on the leg side or more than 2 fieldsmen behind square leg at any one time. For the first 6 overs only 2 players may field outside the inner circle. Overs 6-20 only 5 players may field outside the inner circle.

The inner circle (as a guide is 30m) must be agreed to prior to the commencement of the match by both captains.

7 Number of Overs per Bowler

No bowler may bowl more than four overs.

In the case of delayed or interrupted matches no bowler may bowl more than one fifth of the overs available. (Where the number is not divisible by five an additional over shall be allowed to a minimum number of bowlers).

8 No Ball

A free hit is to be awarded to all modes of No Ball

Bowlers are permitted to bowl one fast short, pitched deliveries per over. A short, pitched delivery is defined as a ball which passes or would have passed between shoulder and head height of the striker standing upright at the crease. For any subsequent short-pitched deliveries in the over the umpire at the bowler's end shall call and signal No-ball

Any delivery which passes, or would have passed, on the full above waist height of the striker standing upright at the crease is deemed unfair. The umpire at the bowler's end shall call and signal No-ball (relates to all bowlers)

If a bowler bowls a "foot-fault" a No-ball shall be called

If the No ball was called for having too many fielders outside the circle, the field can be changed for the Free Hit even if there is no change in striker



9 Wide Ball

Umpires are instructed to apply a very strict and consistent interpretation in order to prevent negative bowling.

Any delivery which does not give the batsman a reasonable opportunity to score shall be called a wide. A penalty of 1 run shall be awarded for a "wide" and recorded as a "wide".

A ball that passes above head height of the batsman standing upright, that prevents it being hit with the bat by means of a normal cricket shot shall be called Wide

This penalty shall stand in addition to any other runs which are awarded.

10 Timed Out

The incoming batsman must be ready to make his way to the pitch immediately a wicket falls as either batsman must be ready to face the next delivery within 90 seconds of the fall of the previous wicket.

11 Over Rate Penalties

Teams are expected to be in position to deliver their final over within 90 minutes of commencement of the innings. Umpires will report sides that fail to meet this commitment and points will be deducted or teams could be disqualified from the match.

12 Number of Players

- (a) The minimum number of players required to start a match is 7 (seven)
- (b) If a team cannot start with 7, then after consultation with the opposition captain, teams can agree to continue as a competition game or the team with less than 7 must default
- (c) It is the responsibility of the batting team to provide two umpires and a minimum of one scorer during the entire innings, failure to provide these results in a default.
- (d) A team may consist of 12 players. 11 fielders only allowed to field at any one time. One player in the team shall not be permitted to bat, this player is to be nominated at the toss. Unlimited interchange of fielders from the 12 players shall be allowed.

13 Points

A WIN 4 POINTS
NO RESULT/ABANDONED 2 POINT
A LOSS 0 POINT