First round of domestic contracts for Northern Districts women announced for 2022/23

First round of domestic contracts for Northern Districts women announced for 2022/238 Sep 2022

11 players have been confirmed in the Northern Districts women’s programme as part of the historic first round of domestic contracts.

Earlier this year Northern Districts celebrated the ground-breaking new master agreement that saw increased resourcing of the domestic game as a key focus.

The new five-year deal sees the number of domestic women’s contracts increasing from nine to 12 and will see players receiving the same match fees as men across all their formats and competitions.

Head Coach Jo Broadbent is thrilled with the balance to the squad for the season with a mix of youth and experience, including the return of a former international after a stint away from the game.

“Our younger players have been developing nicely over the last few seasons and we look forward to what our players can bring as we focus on connecting them as a group this season,” said Broadbent.

Six players return to the women’s programme for the 2022/23 season, spearheaded by Irish international Eimear Richardson who is currently overseas preparing for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup qualifier in UAE later this month.

Also returning are Northern Districts’ Dream11 Super Smash player of the year Caitlin Gurrey, former international Sam Barriball, former age group international Lucy Boucher, and attacking off-spinner Lauren Heaps.

The squad also features last season’s ND young player of the year Kayley Knight, and a first contract for Holly Topp, both featured in various New Zealand Cricket camps over the winter break.

Elsewhere, Bernadine Bezuidenhout returns to domestic cricket with ND after a two-season hiatus. While the bowling stocks are bolstered by young quicks Carol Agafili and Shirya Naidu – who both represented ND last season – and Marama Downes who makes the move to ND from Auckland.

The final contracted player will be announced next week, and all 12 will be joined by WHITE FERNS Brooke Halliday and Nensi Patel – the Nicola Browne Medal winner for 2021/22 – when their international schedule allows. Halliday has been named in the 15-strong squad to tour the West Indies departing later this week.

GM Performance and Talent, Ian Sandbrook is excited with the 11 players named that will form the core of the ND side for the one-day Hallyburton Johnstone Shield and Dream11 Super Smash T20 competitions this season.

“We've assembled an exciting and dynamic squad that I know our coaching staff are really looking forward to working with, and we are confident we will have a successful season,” said Sandbrook.

2021/22 contracted players Kate Anderson, Charlotte Sarsfield, and Makayla Templeton have elected to pursue their domestic cricket elsewhere for the upcoming summer.

“I’d like to thank Kate, Charlotte and Makayla for their contribution to Northern Districts Cricket and wish them all the best for their future,” said Sandbrook.

Long serving allrounder Alisha Rout also announced her retirement from domestic cricket earlier this year after nine years in the ND framework.

The Hallyburton Johnstone Shield gets underway with a double header against the Otago Sparks at Cobham Oval in Whangarei on the weekend of 19 and 20 November.

While the Northern Brave start their Dream11 Super Smash campaign against the Canterbury Magicians at Bay Oval on 23 December.

Northern Districts Contracted Players 2022/23
Carol Agafili*, Sam Barriball, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Lucy Boucher, Marama Downes*, Caitlin Gurrey, Lauren Heaps, Kayley Knight, Shriya Naidu*, Eimear Richardson, Holly Topp*, + one to be added

*first domestic contract

WHITE FERNS Contracted Players 2022/23
Brooke Halliday, Nensi Patel