Halliday named in historic Commonwealth Games squad

Halliday named in historic Commonwealth Games squad8 Jun 2022

Brooke Halliday has been named in a New Zealand Women’s T20 squad comprising a rich mix of youth and experience for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

It’s the first-time women’s cricket has featured at the Commonwealth Games, following a men’s 50-over version played at Kuala Lumpur in 1998, when New Zealand won a bronze medal.

The Northern Brave stalwart will be looking to add to the 27 caps she already has to her name.

The 15-strong touring party comprises two wicket-keepers in McFadyen and Gaze; three spinners in Melie Kerr, Carson, and Jonas, a pace bowling quartet of Hannah Rowe, Jess Kerr, Rosemary Mair and Hayley Jensen (with back-up from Devine) and a batting spine of Bates, Devine, Green, Down and Halliday.

The naming takes the total number of athletes currently selected to the New Zealand Team for Birmingham 2022 to 95. 

New Zealand Women’s Cricket Team: Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Sophie Devine, Lauren Down,
Izzy Gaze, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Melie Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Jess McFadyen, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe.