Hamilton Cricket Association Senior Awards 2021/22

Hamilton Cricket Association Senior Awards 2021/2220 Jan 2023


JE Mills Plate for Most Club Runs in the Season

Sajith Dhambagolla (Star University) with 556 runs, including 2 centuries 124* & 111*

JK Everest Cup for Highest Score in an Innings

Angus Henry (Hamilton Boys High) 129 vs Hamilton Old Boys in the Eddy Marr Bowl

NA McMahon Cup for Fastest Century

Adam Keene (Melville) 59 ball century vs Fraser Tech in the Eddy Marr Bowl

EC Petrie Trophy for the Most Wicket-Keeping Dismissals

Matt Whitley (Hamilton Old boys) 25 dismissals (20 catches, 5 stumpings)

PJ & DE Page Trophy for Most Fielder’s Catches in a Season

Craig Robb (Fraser Tech) 13 catches

M Barnett Trophy for Most Wickets in an Innings

Ravindu Pathirana (Hamilton Old Boys) 6/38 against Fraser Tech

AF Lissette Snr Trophy for most wickets in a season

Gogal Basu (Marist Suburbs) 37 wickets


CH Hamilton Cup: Senior C

Hamilton Old Boys Red won the title for the second consecutive year with a convincing win in the final over Marist Suburbs by 181 runs.

Senior C MVP

Dylan Jefferies

BH Pairaudeau Cup: Senior B One-Day

Melville B HKS vs Marist Suburbs

Marist Suburbs won the toss and elected to bat, Majinder Grewal held the innings together with a score of 77 as Marist posted 205/9 in their 45 overs. In response, Melville’s top order started in positive fashion and were on top of the run rate in their pursuit of the target. Even when the 3rd wicket fell at 145, the odds were in Melville’s favour needing 61 off 15 overs with 7 wickets left. Melville weren’t able to establish a partnership and lost wickets at regular intervals and being bowled out for 178.

Marist Suburbs won by 27 runs

GS Hampton Cup: Senior B two-day

Marist Suburbs found themselves in another final with their opposition to be Melville HKR. Marist won the toss and bowled first, Melville manged to score 133 in their first innings. In their turn at bat, Marist lost regular wickets and were 79/7, the lower order made a rear-guard action led by Paramjeet Singh scoring 67 in securing first innings for Marist suburbs. Melville were 99/7 in their second innings as the second day drew to a finish, both teams shaking hands to end the game.

Marist Suburbs are the GS Hampton Senior B two day champions

Senior B MVP

Manjinder Grewal

Spark Business JR Bailey Cup: Senior A One-Day

Marist Suburbs vs Hamilton Old Boys Red

Hamilton Old Boys won the toss and bowled, it was a great decision as Marist Suburbs slumped to 20/6 with opening bowlers Raj Singh and PJ Monga sharing 3 wickets a piece. Kyle Van Waveren and Fraser Ward were bought together and re-established the Marist innings with a 128 run 7th wicket partnership, the remainder of the Marist line-up were able to work together and post a competitive 196. Fraser Ward ending the innings on 96*

Hamilton Old Boys fared a little better than Marist with their turn at bat. Early wickets left Old Boys 68/7, they needed a similar rear guard action in their innings despite attempts by Raj Singh and Satpal Singh. Old Boys could only get to 143 before being bowled out.

Marist won by 35 runs and are the winners of the Spark business JR Bailey Cup: Senior A one-day

RJ Sigley Cup: Senior A Two-Day

Hamilton Old Boys Red were in another final with the opposition being Spark Melville. Old Boys won the toss and elected to bowl. Regular wickets by Old Boys led to Melville being bowled out for 117. Hamilton Old Boys set out to secure first innings points, openers Digvijay Haden and PJ Monga secured first innings with an opening partnership of 138. Regular wickets after the opening partnership saw Old Boys bowled out for 249 and a lead of 132. Melville weren’t able to make an impact with the second turn at bat, the game finished with Melville 131/7.

Hamilton Old Boys Red won on first innings and are the winners of the RJ Sigley Cup: Senior A Two-day

GC Quick Trophy for Senior A Club Cricketer of the Season

Allan Arora (Fraser Tech) 337 runs, 37 wickets

AHS Holland Plate: Premier One-Day

In a tight and close contest between Hamilton Old Boys and Marist Suburbs. Hamilton Old Boys won the toss and posted 182. Anurag Verma top scoring with 44 with Andrew Tiddy best of the bowlers with 4/37.

Michael Dodunski held the Marist reply together for most of the innings with 60, Andrew McLean proved to be the match winner for Marist Suburbs as he was able to guide the chase with 58*.

Marist Suburbs securing the win in the last over with 9 wickets down.

Spark Premier Competition – Hamilton and Waikato Valley: Premier One-Day

Marist Suburbs and Hamilton Old Boys played the final of this competition. Marist Suburbs won the toss and batted first scoring 241. Manjinder Grewal (79) and Peter Bocock (63) scoring half centuries. Ravindu Pathirana was the best of the bowlers with 4/43.

Josh Brown led the chase for Old Boys with 74, once he was dismissed with the score at 123, regular wickets from Marist Suburbs had Hamilton Old Boys bowled out for 189. Nick Farrell doing the damage for Marist Suburbs with figures of 5/36

Eddy Marr Bowl: Premier Round-Robin

Marist Suburbs were convincing winners, finishing on 66 points to Hamilton Old Boys 49 Of the five rounds Melville secured 2 outright victories and two first innings victories.

HH Howden Cup: Premier grand final

Marist Suburbs and Hamilton Old Boys faced off again in another premier final.

Marist batted first and posted 120 all out, Michael Dodunski scoring 50 for Marist Suburbs while with the ball, Josh Brown took 5/17. In the race for first innings Hamilton Old Boys were bowled out for 104 with Brook Hatwell top scoring with 33 and Nick Farrell the best of the bowlers with 4/24.

Marist Suburbs had a 16 run lead after both first innings, an outright victory was the likeliest option for both teams. Marist took a very cautious approach in their 2nd innings and at 52/4, a small total looked likely. Marist Suburbs first innings performers Dodunski and Farrell built an 102 run partnership to stretch the Marist Suburbs lead out. At 185/8 a chase of just over 200 looked on the cards, however Andrew Mclean and Troy Mitchell scored half centuries to put Marist into a commanding position with a 314 run lead. Hamilton Old Boys had to score at a quick rate to chase down the total they were bowled out for 102.

Marist Suburbs won by 212 runs

SB Baird Trophy for Best Performance in the Premier Final

Nick Farrell – 7 wickets, 52 in the second innings

WJ Tiller Trophy for Premier Club Cricketer of the Season

Satvir Singh (Hamilton Old Boys) 498 runs and 34 wickets including 3 fifties and 1 Five wicket haul

ES Thomas Trophy for Umpire of the Season

Greg Pennell


HCA Player Honours

Blackcaps: Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn

Northern Districts (M): Scott Kuggeleijn, Joe Walker, Mitchell Santner, Peter Bocock, Freddy Walker, Anurag Verma, Josh Brown

ND A: Peter Bocock, Freddy Walker, Josh Brown, Jack Devane, Ewald Schreuder, Kuwyn Price, Nic Farrell

Northern Districts (F): Eimear Richardson, Charlotte Sarsfield, Georgina Harris, Lucy Boucher, Naomi Matthews, Mereana Hyde, Emma Baker, Shirya Naidu

ND U19: Jacob Parker, Kuwyn Price, Payton Spencer, Ewald Schreuder

NZC Development: Jacob Parker, Payton Spencer

AE Gibbons Trophy for Best Batting Performance

Jack Devane with 89 vs Northland to help secure first innings points for Hamilton

AE Gibbons Trophy for Best Bowling Performance

Nick Farrell with 5-50 vs Counties Manukau.

WP Bradburn Trophy for Most Runs in a Season

Jack Devane

N Puna Trophy for Most Wickets in a Season

Nick Farrell with 10 wickets at an average of 19

CW Dickeson Trophy for Best Performance in the A Side

Jack Devane with 89 vs Northland to help secure first innings points for Hamilton

ADG Roberts Trophy for Services to Cricket

Chris Kuggeleijn