The McCaw Lewis Northern Māori competed at the inaugural National Wāhine Māori Tournament in Hastings over the weekend, coming away with three victories from four matches.

The inspirational weekend of cricket culminated in Central Districts Māori taking out the tournament and being awarded the inaugural Rona McKenzie Taonga by Darren McKenzie, grandnephew of the late Rona McKenzie.

Captain of the Northern Māori side and Northern Brave wicketkeeper, Holly Topp, has expressed gratitude to those involved in the tournament’s organisation, and spoken of how the team valued the environment and spirit in which the games were played.

“Firstly, ngā mihi nui ki te kirikiti ō Aotearoa, me ngā Andrew Tara, me ngā Northern Districts hoki. It was a special tournament for all involved and could not have gone ahead without their mahi and tautoko.

“The tournament itself was Te Ao Māori tuatahi and kirikiti tuarua, which was refreshing and meant the spirit in which the games were played was so inclusive, as well as competitive. I can’t speak highly enough of all teams involved for this” she said.

Topp felt that the connection between players was fostered throughout the weekend, exemplified by the closing event.

“A real special pō whakangāhau took place at Pukemokimoki marae to conclude the tournament which was a highlight for all whānau. Performances from each team were enjoyed by all. For me, the highlight of the night was when everyone got up and sung ‘Tūtira mai ngā iwi’ to conclude the evening. This waiata is about togetherness and unity- very fitting for the occasion.”

Several Northern Māori players featured in the list of top performers from the weekend. With the ball, Dayle Anderson took 6 wickets at 7.6, and Elle Archer took 5 wickets at 14.2. Northern Brave star Sam Barriball was on form with the bat, nabbing 102 runs at 51.

2023 has been the first year for both the wāhine and tāne national tournaments and they will now be annual features of the cricket calendar in Aotearoa.

Match reports and scoring can be found at:

The Northern Māori cricket programme was first developed in 2010/11 season. Northern Māori are selected from players in the ND region, incorporating Northland, Counties Manukau, Waikato, Hamilton, Bay of Plenty, and Poverty Bay. Waikato law firm McCaw Lewis Lawyers became the naming sponsor of the tāne and wāhine teams in 2016, and have remained strong supporters.

Photo gallery:

Photo credit: @capturedby_charlie

Northern Māori
National Wāhine Māori Tournament 2023

Dayle Anderson | Tainui

Kiri Anderson | Tainui

Elle Archer | Ngāti Māhanga, Tainui

Sam Barriball | Ngāti Rangitihi, Ngāi Tūhoe

Jessica Benge | Te Ati Haunui-a-Pāpārangi

Mia Chatterton | Te Rarawa

Ella Farrell | Ngā Puhi

Mereana Hyde | Tainui, Ngā Puhi

Zamera Ikiua | Ngā Puhi

Elizabeth-Rose Pengelly Woodhead | Te Aupōuri, Ngā Puhi, Ngāti Hine

Sadie Stewart | Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kuia, Te Āti Awa

Holly Topp (C) | Ngāi Tahu

Olivia Tremain | Ngā Puhi, Ngatiwai

Coach: Michael Rameka | Ngāti Tūwharetoa

Assistant Coach/Manager: Mereana Hyde | Tainui, Ngā Puhi