Knights top-order strengthened as Raval joins ND

Knights top-order strengthened as Raval joins ND30 Jun 2020

15 players have accepted 2020/21 Northern Districts contracts during the first round of domestic offers, including former Auckland Aces opener Jeet Raval.

After a difficult test series against England last summer, Raval took time away and focused on club cricket, before returning to the Auckland one-day side with an average of over fifty in five innings. Raval finished the 2019/20 season as one of the Aces leading run-scorers.

"We are very excited to have someone of Jeet's personal and cricketing character join our team. His experience combined with his determination and professionalism to develop and work his way back to international cricket we feel with have a great impact on our programme and environment. We look forward to working with Jeet and watching his positive contribution to the Knights." - Daniel Archer said (GM People and Performance).

With 3 First-class matches and 10 List A appearances, 20-year-old Katene Clarke has also accepted his first Northern Districts contract after an impressive summer.

"We are proud of the way Katene has continued to grow and develop in recent years and are very excited to have him as a contracted member of our Knights programme this season. I am sure he will continue to embrace all opportunities and challenges presented as part of his journey into professional cricket." - Archer continued.

After an excellent season returning from injury and a prior stint with Wellington, Anurag Verma has earned a contract with Northern Districts. His journey has come full circle as he initially debuted for Northern Districts in 2011.

Aside from Daryl Mitchell's move to Canterbury and the retirement of Northern Districts legend Daniel Flynn, the rest of the squad remains unchanged.

The final contract will be announced in early July to complete the Northern Districts squad for 2020/21.

Northern Districts Contracted Players 2020/21

James Baker

Peter Bocock

Dean Brownlie

Joe Carter

Katene Clarke

Henry Cooper

Anton Devcich

Zak Gibson

Brett Hampton

Scott Kuggeleijn

Brett Randell

Jeet Raval

Tim Seifert

Anurag Verma

Joe Walker

BLACKCAPS Contracts 2020/21

Trent Boult

Colin de Grandhomme

Mitchell Santner

Ish Sodhi

Tim Southee

Neil Wagner

BJ Watling

Kane Williamson